Two New Lecturers in History for 2011-12

Date: 31 August 2011

The History Department is pleased to announce theappointment oftwo new lecturers for the academic year 2011/12. Our new colleagues are Dr Nicola Clarke and Dr Dariusz Gafijczuk. Nicola, a specialist in early Islamic Spain,was awarded a DPhil at Oxford in 2009 and is currently at the Institute of Oriental Studies at Oxford. Dariusz, whose PhD was awarded by the University of Alberta in 2007, has been Newton International Fellow in History2009-11, after teaching at Trinity College Dublin. He is an expert in Central European history and culture.

These appointments have been made possible by the success of Dr Alex Metcalfe and Dr Deborah Sutton in securing a British Academy Mid-Career Fellowship and a Leverhulme Fellowship respectively for 2011/12. These external awards are in addition to Dr Paul Hayward's appointment to the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, for the academic year 2011/12.


Further information

Associated departments and research centres: History