Postgraduate Fees and Funding

Please follow the links below for fee information: 

Research Scholarship in Literature and Science / Medicine

Number of bursaries: 1
Eligibility: Open to Home/EU and Overseas applicants 
Deadline: 2 March 2018 (5pm GMT)
Faculty Studentship Application Form 2018/19

The Department invites applications for a PhD in English and/or Creative Writing focused upon the relationship between literature and science or literature and medicine from the Early Modern period through to the present. Topics might include, but are not limited to: the influence of science and/or medicine on novelists and/or poets, or vice versa; literature that challenges or complicates the idea that there are ‘two cultures’ between the arts and the sciences; science or literature as metaphor; popular science writing; the therapeutic effects of writing in terms of bodily or mental well-being; the intersections of science, technology and literature; the Medical Humanities; the use of fiction as the expression or representation of chronic pain; speculative fiction; post-humanism; environmental or eco-critical writing; and drugs and literature. Interdisciplinary projects are strongly welcomed.

The bursary takes the form of a fee waiver for the duration of an individual's PhD studies & a contribution towards maintenance costs. Applications should be made on the appropriate application form and should be sent to Mrs Leila Atkinson at

Award criteria: The scholarships will be awarded on a competitive basis. Candidates for a scholarship will be ranked based on the following criteria in order of priority:

  • Potential for an original contribution.
  • Evidence of scholarly ability:
         - clear and concise description of the study
         - awareness of current literature in the field
         - understanding of research methodology appropriate for an early stage postgraduate student
         - a research project that can be completed within the timeframe allowed for a PhD

For informal inquiries contact Dr Catherine Spooner

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS) and Department Funding

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is pleased to offer a number of Faculty Scholarships to outstanding UK, EU and Overseas applicants wishing to study for a Masters degree, a Masters Degree followed by a PhD (“1+3”), or for a PhD degree within the Faculty.

Applicants wishing to be considered for these awards should complete the Faculty Scholarship application form and send it to Mrs Leila Atkinson by 5pm GMT on Friday 2nd March 2018. All applicants must already hold an offer of a place to study in English Literature & Creative Writing before applying for a scholarship, and be due to commence their studies during the 2018-19 academic year.

A variety of scholarships will be awarded ranging from fee bursaries to fee bursaries plus maintenance grants up to the value of £15,000.

Faculty Studentship Application Form 2018/19

Eligibility: All full-time and part-time students with an offer of a place of study

Applications for Postgraduate Scholarships can be made in all departments and their disciplines.

Deadline: 5:00pm GMT on Friday 2rd March 2018

Please submit the completed application form to Mrs Leila Atkinson. 

Terms and Conditions: 

Faculty 1+3 Scholarships 2018 T&C

Faculty MA Scholarships 2018 T&C

Faculty Research Scholarships 2018 T&C

Chelsea Eddy (ENGL)
Rebecca Gibson (ENGL)
Rebecca Spence (ENGL)
FASS PhD Scholarship in Literature, Landscape and the Environment
Karen Lloyd (CW)
Shelley Bates (CW)
Michael Pritchard (ENGL)

University Funding

Alumni Loyalty Scholarship

Lancaster University will offer a reduction in tuition fees to all taught Master’s programmes for eligible applicants, determined by the level of undergraduate award achieved. The value of the scholarship is as follows:

  • 20% fee reduction for 1st Class Hons degree holders
  • 10% fee reduction for 2:1 Hons degree holders

Who is eligible?

To be eligible for the Alumni Loyalty Scholarship you must either:

  • Hold an undergraduate degree from Lancaster University (achieved at any time) or
  • Have graduated from one of our partner institutions (LU Ghana; Sunway University Malaysia; Goenka Institution India; or COMSATS Pakistan) or
  • Have studied at Lancaster University via our Study Abroad programme

The Scholarship is open to all our Alumni, regardless of their nationality or year of graduation. You do not need to apply for this scholarship, you will qualify automatically if you meet the eligibility criteria and the course entry requirements.

External Funding

Postgraduate Loan Scheme

The UK Government offers non means-tested loans of up to a maximum of £10,000 a year to taught and research Master's students. For further information please see the Postgraduate Loan Scheme page.

Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC) Doctoral Training Partnership Studentships

Lancaster University is part of the North-West Consortium Doctoral Training Partnership (, which makes around 50 awards each year to support research students in the north-west. Home applicants are eligible for fees and a maintenance grant and EU applicants for fees only.

Students should have been offered a place at Lancaster prior to submitting their AHRC studentship application. The deadline for PhD study applications to be admitted on a programme at Lancaster for 2018-19 is 15th January 2018.  Applicants are strongly advised to liaise with prospective supervisors when completing the studentship application form.

Further information about the NWCDTP and the studentships, along with the application forms and guidance notes is available via the NWCDTP website.  Please check that you meet the academic and residential eligibility criteria in the guidance notes before applying.  Applications should be made on the appropriate application form and should be sent to FASS PG Admissions.

The deadline for AHRC studentship applications for 2018-19 is 5.00 pm GMT on 9th February 2018.  No studentship application submitted after this time will be processed; nor will applications of those who have not received and accepted an offer of a place by this date.