Lancaster Writing Award 2017

Lancaster writing award

The Department of English Literature and Creative Writing at Lancaster University is pleased to announce our fifth annual writing competition.

With categories in Criticism, Fiction, Poetry, and our newly introduced category of Script and Screen Writing, these prestigious awards are open to Year 12 or 13 students in the UK. This award seeks to recognise and reward emerging critical and creative talent. 

We are pleased to announce the Longlist for the Lancaster Writing Awards 2017:

Daisy Brown, Arden Academy

Thomas Bull, Calder High School Sixth Form

Olivia Darwin Welsby, Cronton Sixth Form College

Isabella Esperon, Oxford High School

Annie Fan, Rugby High School

Laura Farrell, Cronton Sixth Form College

Imogen Fawcett, William Brookes School

Constance Flynn, Cronton Sixth Form College

Annabelle Fuller, Gateways School

Alice Freeman-Cuerden, Finham Park School

Olivia Fyfe, Segbergh School

Oliwia Geisler, Greenshaw High School

Jess Goode, The Crypt School

Louise Gorse, Cardinal Newman Sixth Form College, Preston

Emma Hart, Wyke Sixth Form College

Freddie Hyde, Sale Grammar School

Amelia Marshall, James Allen’s Girls’ School

Michael Morgan, Cardinal Newman Catholic School, Coventry

Emma Nay, Cheadle Hulme High School Sixth Form

Franklin Nelson, The Perse Upper School

Benjamin O’Rourke, Rochdale Sixth Form College

Naomi Peach, Wyke Sixth Form College

Michael Sonsino, Sharnbrook Upper School

Catriona Sutherland, Farnborough Sixth Form

Edgar Tate, Ermysteds Grammar School

Oli Taylor, Lawrence Sheriff School

Ben Vince, Edgbarrow Sixth Form

We wish to thank all those who took part in the competition. We hope that the final shortlist will be published in May. If you have any questions regarding the competition please contact: 


Prizes (Per Category) 

First prize: £100 book vouchers and publication in Cake Magazine 

Second prize: £50 book vouchers 

Third prize: £25 book vouchers 

(second and third prize winners will also be published on the website)


‌Professor Terry Eagleton, internationally celebrated scholar and literary theorist, will judge the entries in the criticism category. 

Professor Paul Farley, prize-winning poet, writer, broadcaster and Fellow of the Royal Society for Literature, will judge the entries in the poetry category.

Jenn Ashworth, prize-winning novelist and short story writer, will judge the entries in the prose fiction category.

Tajinder Singh Hayer, celebrated screen-writer will judge the script and screen writer category.