Changing cultures of competitiveness Institute for Advanced Studies
Changing Cultures of Competitiveness: Conceptual and Policy Issues - ESRC Seminar Series Politics and International Relations, Lancaster University
Home > Series Organisers

Series co-ordinators and organizers

Series Co-ordinators

Dr Ngai-Ling Sum

Department of Politics and International Relations, Lancaster University

E-mail: n.sum@lancaster.ac.uk

Professor Bob Jessop

Institute for Advanced Studies and Department of Sociology, Lancaster University

E-mail: r.jessop@lancaster.ac.uk

 

Thematic Organizers

Theme 1 – Cultures of Competitiveness: Discourses and Knowledge Brands

Dr Ngai-Ling Sum
Department of Politics and International Relations, Lancaster University

E-mail: n.sum@lancaster.ac.uk

 

Theme 2 – Financialization of Competitiveness

Dr Paul Langley
School of Arts & Social Sciences, Northumbria University

E-mail: paul.langley@unn.ac.uk

 

Theme 3 – Competitiveness, Global Production and Labour Relations

Dr Martin Hess
School of Environment and Development, Manchester University

E-mail: martin.hess@manchester.ac.uk

 

Theme 4 – Changing Cultures of Competitiveness in Education

Professor Susan Robertson
Graduate School of Education, Bristol University

E-mail: s.l.robertson@bristol.ac.uk

 

Theme 5 – Changing Cultures of Competitiveness: Social and Environmental Dimensions

Professor Bob Jessop and Dr Ngai-Ling Sum, Department of Sociology and Department of Politics and International Relations

E-mail: n.sum@lancaster.ac.uk & Professor Bob Jessop

 

Theme 6 – Social Exclusion and Socially-Creative Spaces

Professor Frank Moulaert
School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape, Newcastle University

E-mail: frank.moulaert@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Andy Pike
Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies (CURDS), Newcastle University

E-mail: andy.pike@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Sara Gonzalez
School of Geography, Leeds University

E-mail: s.gonzalez@leeds.ac.uk

 

International Organization

This project is co-listed on the United Nations Research Institute for Social Development - UNRSID website

Contact person: Dr Peter Utting

 

Other Affiliated universities/academics:

  • Durham – Prof. Ray Hudson
  • Aberystwyth - Prof. Martin Jones
  • Madison-Wisconsin – Prof. Jamie Peck
  • Université du Québec – Prof. Juan-Luis Klein
  • Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve – Prof. Marthe Nysse

Lancaster University Bristol University Northumbria University Centre for Urban and Regional Development Studies United Nations Research Institute for Social Development Manchester.ac.uk Global Urban Research Unit

 

| Overview and Aims | Background to the series |
| Seminars | The series organisers | Contact |
ESRC home page