Current research seminars

Michaelmas term 2014

Week 1  Friday 10 October 2014 – Robert Korajczyk, Northwestern University, US
"Horizon Pricing" (with Avraham Kamara, Xiaoxia Lou and Ronnie Sadka)

Week 2  Friday 17 October 2014 – Stephen Brown, New York University
"Betting Against Beta or Demand for Lottery" (with Turan G Bali, Scott Murray and Yi Tang)

Week 4  Friday 31 October 2014 – Holger Daske, University of Mannheim, Germany
"A Tale of Two Regulators: Risk Disclosures, Liquidity, and Enforcement in the Banking Sector"

Week 6  Friday 14 November 2014 – Bruce Grundy, Melbourne University
"Can Socially Responsible Firms Survive Competition? An Analysis of Corporate Employee Matching Grants"

Week 7  Friday 21 November 2014 – Gaika Ormazabal Sanchez, IESE Business School, Spain
"Prosecuting Price-Fixing Cartels: The Role of Independent Directors" (with Murillo Campello and Daniel Ferres)

Week 8  Friday 28th November 2014 - Norvald Instefjord, Essex University
"Loan Monitoring and Bank Risk" (with Hiroyuki Nakata)

Week 9  Friday 5 December 2014 – Thorsten Sellhorn, University of Munich
"Recognition Versus Disclosure of Fair Values"


Lent Term 2015


Week 1  Friday 16 January 2015 - Huainan Zhao, Cranfield University
"Financial Leverage and Employee Death: Evidence from China's Coalmining Industry" (with Huihua Nie)

Week 2  Friday 23 January 2015 - Ana Albuquerque, Boston University
"Do Boards Exercise Discretion to Reduce Costly Ex Post Settling Up? (with Bingyi Chen, Qi (Flora) Dong and Edward J Riedl)

Week 3  Friday 30 January 2015 - Torben Andersen, Northwestern University, US
"High-Frequency Trading Invariants for Equity-Index Futures" (with Oleg Bondarenko, Albert S Kyle and Anna Obizhaeva)

Week 4  Friday 6 February 2015 - David Veredas, Universite Libre de Bruxelles
"Short Selling in the Tails" (with Marco Geraci and Tomas Garbaravicius)

Week 5  Friday 13 February 2015 - Alberto Manconi, Tilburg University, Nertherlands

Week 6  Friday 20 February 2015 - Peter Ove Christensen, Aarhus Universitet, Denmark

Week 7  Friday 27 February 2015 (11.15am) - Asger Lunde, Aarhus Universitet, Denmark

Week 8  Friday 6 March 2015 - Hans B Christensen, Chicago University

Week 9  Friday 13 March 2015 - Gopal Krishnan, American University, US

Week 10  Friday 20 March 2015 - Meryem Duygun, University of Hull