Background of the LCMC

‌‌"The purpose of the Centre is to develop new programmes of research and teaching at postgraduate and post-experience level relevant to the needs of Chinese managers."

LUMS has long-standing relationships with Chinese institutions and remains committed to research, projects and teaching in the People's Republic of China. Lancaster's standing (both the School and the University) is high with several leading Chinese universities such as The People's University, Beijing, Peking University, the University of International Business and Economics (UIBE), Beijing University of Science and Technology (USTB), Sun-Yat Sen University and Guangdong University of Foreign Studies. In addition LUMS has good links with the British Council, the Ministry of Foreign Trade and other agencies, such as CAIEP, the China Youth Council for International Exchange and the China Management Science Society.

The LCMC was launched in March 2001 with a Steering Committee then chaired by Emeritus Professor Alasdair MacBean.

Since October 2005, the Chair of the Committee and Director of the Centre has been Professor David Brown. The considerable contribution of David Brown to Sino-UK relations was recognised by the UKTI Greater China Recognition award in February 2008.

Other members of the Committee include representatives of LUMS, of other departments in Lancaster University which have experience of working in China, and Mr Stephen Phillips, Director of the China-Britain Business Council, of which the LCMC is a member.

The LCMC has been established to draw together the activities of Lancaster University Management School and to reinforce the commitment and involvement of LUMS in China to facilitate collaborative research (including doctoral registrations), arrange international conferences, hold seminars, provide courses for managers and develop collaborative programmes with a range of top universities in the PRC.

The relationship between LUMS and the Management Science Society of China was recognised in April 2003 by the award to the Dean, Professor Sue Cox, of an honorary fellowship of the Centre – the first to be awarded to a scholar from outside China. Professor Chen ZhiCheng, Society Vice President, has also been awarded an LCMC honorary fellowship.

For the terms of reference for the Centre, see Purposes and Aims.