Workshop on Non-associative Algebras and Applications

Monday 9th–Friday 13th July 2018

The first examples of of non-associative rings and algebras appeared in the mid-19th century. Since then the theory has evolved into an independent branch of algebra, exhibiting many points of contact with other fields of mathematics and also with physics, mechanics, biology and other sciences. The aim of this workshop is to bring together mathematicians, physicists and other natural scientists interested in this field, with a focus on increasing the quality of research, promoting interaction among researchers and discussing new directions for the future.



The workshop will be held in the Management LT 1 from Monday to Wednesday and in the PSC LT from Thursday to Friday. The registration will take place on Monday in the Management LT 1. A campus map is available here.

Scientific Committee

  • Yuri Bahturin (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
  • Georgia Benkart (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • Murray Bremner (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Alberto Elduque (University of Zaragoza)
  • Rolf Farnsteiner (Kiel University)
  • Pavel Kolesnikov (Sobolev Institute of Mathematics)
  • Ottmar Loos (FernUniversität in Hagen)
  • Consuelo Martinez (University of Oviedo)
  • Justin McInroy (University of Bristol)
  • Jacob Mostovoy (Cinvestav IPN)
  • Alexander Premet (University of Manchester)
  • Susanne Pumpluen (University of Nottingham)
  • Ivan Shestakov (University of Sao Paulo)
  • Sergey Shpectorov (University of Birmingham)
  • Efim Zelmanov (UC San Diego)

We have limited funds to support UK-based PhD students who do not have access to Research Council or other institutional funding.  This funding will pay for travel costs and accommodation, and will be allocated on a first come, first served basis.  Should you wish to be considered for this, please contact one of the organisers, giving an estimate of costs and the name of your supervisor(s), who will be asked to support your request.

Please contact the local organisers with any queries.

Local Organising Committee: David TowersPaul LevyMark MacDonald

We are grateful for the financial support from the London Mathematical Society and the Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research.

London Mathematical Society Heilbronn Institute for Mathematical Research