Contact Details | Skip Links | Site Map | Privacy & Cookies

You are here: Home > Committees and Meetings > Safety Committee

Safety Committee

The Safety Committee advises departments and the university on the implementation and development of university safety policy.

The Safety Committee's specific terms of reference are to advise departments and the university on the implementation and development of university safety policy, to spread good practice across the faculty, and to enable communication in both directions between the University Safety Committee, Heads of Departments, Area Safety Offices and the Dean on all matters relating to safety, including:

  • The safety infrastructure needs of the faculty to support teaching, administration and research
  • The safety training and support needs of the faculty
  • The development, implementation and maintenance of effective and appropriate safety systems

Current Members

  • Professor Mary Smyth Faculty Dean (Chair)
  • Professor Peter Atkinson Faculty Dean,
  • Professor Philip Barker Professor, Lancaster Environment Centre
  • Dr James Brown IT Services Manager, Computing and Communications
  • Professor Kate Cain Professor, Psychology
  • Peter Caley Laboratory Superintendent, Engineering
  • John Dwyer Faculty Superintendent, Faculty of Health and Medicine
  • Professor Peter Fielden Head of Department, Chemistry
  • Shonah Ion Departmental Superintendent, Physics
  • Gordon Johnston Workshop/Laboratory Technician, Psychology
  • Professor Roger William Lewis Jones Professor, Physics
  • Professor Andrey Lazarev Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Professor Claudio Paoloni Cockcroft Chair, Engineering
  • Andy Quin Buildings and Facilities Superintendent, Lancaster Environment Centre
  • Helen Quirk Superintendent, Chemistry
  • Professor Jon Whittle Professor, Computing and Communications
  • Yvonne Rigby Information Resources Officer (Secretary)