Contact Details | Skip Links | Site Map | Privacy & Cookies

You are here: Home > Committees and Meetings > Research Committee

Research Committee

The Faculty Research Committee advises the Dean and the Policy and Resources Committee on all areas of science and technology research.

  • research strategy and policy (including REF)
  • allocation of resources to new research areas
  • strategies for maximising research income into the Faculty
  • the promotion of the Faculty research outside the University and the development of links with industry
  • other research issues referred to it by the Dean or Associate Deans
  • ethical issues related to research in general and specific research projects where relevant
  • the level and nature of research activity in the Faculty and University via any central research forum
  • issues around costing of research applications
  • the major research initiatives before they leave the Faculty
  • faculty research days
  • encouragement of interdisciplinary research

The membership of the Committee is as follows:

  • associate dean for research (in the chair)
  • dean (ex officio)
  • director of research (or equivalent) from each department in the faculty (in their absence a designated alternative will attend)
  • director of research centres as decided by the PRC
  • one research staff member of the faculty (selected by ballot by the research staff if more than one nomination to the dean)
  • one representative of the support staff (selected by ballot following nominations by the support staff to the dean)
  • any co-opted member as agreed by the committee
  • a member of staff from the Library will be in attendance at the committee as required

The Committee normally meets once per term. Additional meetings may be called by the Dean or the Associate Dean for Research as necessary.

Current Members

  • Professor Jamshed Anwar Associate Dean for Research (Chair)
  • Professor Andrew Binley Associate Dean for Resources,
  • Professor Colin Boxall Engineering, Engineering
  • Professor Vladimir Falko Distinguished Professor, Physics
  • Dr Jenny Harding Research Development Manager, Psychology
  • Professor Andrey Lazarev Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Dr Peter Love Research Staff Member, Physics
  • Professor David Middleton Professor, Chemistry
  • Professor Christopher Plack Professor, Psychology
  • Professor John Quinton LEC representative, Lancaster Environment Centre
  • Professor Awais Rashid Computing & Communication Systems representative, Computing and Communications
  • Katherine Gill Research and Finance Officer (Secretary)