Contact Details | Skip Links | Site Map | Privacy & Cookies

You are here: Home > Committees and Meetings > Graduate School Committee

Graduate School Committee

The Graduate School Committee advises the Dean and the Policy and Resources Committee on postgraduate studies across the faculty.

The aims of the committee are to:

  • develop strategy in postgraduate teaching, learning and recruitment and prepare policy for discussion at PRC
  • ensure good practice in postgraduate teaching throughout the faculty, develop and maintain good practice in research supervision
  • review departmental recruitment plans, monitoring recruitment to all courses, seeking and analysing market intelligence, encouraging new course developments to meet identified demand, and scrutinising all course proposals against known demand
  • coordinate and work with departments to develop new postgraduate courses and schemes of study and scrutinise and monitor existing course provision
  • make proposals to the Senate and other appropriate committees for new postgraduate courses and schemes of study and for changes to existing courses and schemes
  • coordinate quality control and academic audit for postgraduate courses and monitor progress of research students
  • advise the dean on cost effective use of teaching resources
  • make recommendations about external examiners for all postgraduate schemes of study
  • provide training courses for postgraduate students in the faculty as part of the science graduate training programme and in conjunction with the courses offered by other university faculties and departments. These courses will be responsive to criteria for training specified by the research councils
  • monitor the employment of graduates of faculty courses and develop and review activities to increase employability
  • coordinate and develop the recruitment of postgraduate research students
  • respond to central committee consultation
  • report to the PRC and plenary meeting actions taken on their behalf

The membership of the committee is as follows:

  • associate dean for postgraduate studies (in the chair)
  • dean (ex officio)
  • associate dean for undergraduate teaching
  • director of postgraduate teaching of each department in the faculty (in their absence a designated alternative will attend)
  • one representative of each centre and unit in the Faculty which has direct responsibility for postgraduate studies
  • two postgraduate students, (one PGT and one PGR), to withdraw for certain reserved items
  • one representative of the support staff (selected by ballot following nominations by the support staff to the dean)
  • one representative of each of the Library, the Careers Service, and Organisation and Educational Development shall attend when business relevant to their service is under discussion
  • representatives of cognate schemes of study shall be invited to attend when relevant
  • any co-opted member as agreed by the committee

The committee normally meets at least once per term. Additional meetings may be called by the dean or the associate dean for postgraduate studies as necessary. The Teaching Quality Support Officer shall normally be the secretary.

Current Members

  • Dr Christopher Edwards Associate Dean for Postgraduate Studies (Chair)
  • Susan Armitage Teaching/Curriculum Development Advisor, HR
  • Dr Robert Blake Student Learning Advisor,
  • Jenny Brine , Library
  • Dr Deborah Costain Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Dr Ian Hartley Senior Lecturer, Lancaster Environment Centre
  • Dr Oleg Kolosov Reader, Physics
  • Professor David Middleton Professor, Chemistry
  • Scott Nash Postgraduate Student Representative, Engineering
  • Professor Qiang Ni Professor, Computing and Communications
  • Professor Claudio Paoloni Cockcroft Chair, Engineering
  • Dr Paul Rayson co-opted, Computing and Communications
  • Professor Mary Smyth ex officio,
  • Dr John Towse Senior Lecturer, Psychology
  • Dr Simon Vaukins Graduate School Administrator,
  • Simon Cresswell Faculty Teaching Quality Support Officer (Secretary)