Contact Details | Skip Links | Site Map | Privacy & Cookies

You are here: Home > Committees and Meetings > Area Promotions Committee

Area Promotions Committee

The Area Promotions Committee considers annually recommendations on probation, promotion, and incremental awards for academic staff members of the Faculty, and shall determine cases within the authority delegated to it, subject to review by the University's Promotions Committee.

The membership of the committee is as follows:

  • dean (in the chair)
  • associate deans
  • heads of department
  • area representative (in attendance)
  • additional members may be co-opted where the nature of the case under discussion warrants

Current Members

  • Professor Mary Smyth Faculty Dean (Chair)
  • Professor Jamshed Anwar Associate Dean for Research,
  • Professor Philip Barker Professor, Lancaster Environment Centre
  • Professor Gordon Blower Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Heather Churchman FST HR Partner
  • Dr Christopher Edwards Associate Dean for Postgraduate Studies,
  • Professor Peter Fielden Head of Department, Chemistry
  • Professor Malcolm Joyce Professor, Engineering
  • Professor Andrey Lazarev Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Professor Charlie Lewis Professor, Psychology
  • Professor Peter Ratoff Director of the Cockcroft Institute, Physics
  • Professor Jon Whittle Professor, Computing and Communications
  • Rosie Cantley Resources Officer (Personnel) (Secretary)