Home       About Us       Coming Events       Past Events       Photos       Useful Links       Contact Us     

Last updated 5/5/2015

Prayer Times

Click here to download the prayer timetable for 2012

Click here to download the prayer timetable for 2011

Click here to download the prayer timetable for 2010

Lancaster UK Lt = 54:03N Lg = 2:48W GMT+0
Qibla Compass = 122:11E (2005.75)
Qibla from True North = 118:21E
*customised by www.moonsighting.com



FAQ on Shafi'i and Hanafi beginning Asr times

What is Asr Shafi'i and Asr Hanafi. I do not know the difference. Could you explain?

Answer: Fiqh (jurisprudence) is the interpretation of Hadith. Since every Muslim in not knowledgeable enough to interpret the Qur'an and Hadith, he/she must rely on some scholar who has done this interpretation. In early Islamic period there were four major scholars, Imam Abu-Hanifah in Iraq, Imam Malik in Madinah, Imam Shafi'i in Egypt, and Imam Ahmad Ibn Hanbal in Baghdad, who did a thorough job for this interpretation. An overwhelming majority of Muslims (Sunni or Ahl-e-Sunnah wal-Jama'ah) have converged to limit the interpretation with-in these four school of thoughts of Fiqh. All, or at least overwhelming majority, of the Fiqh scholars (Fuqahaa') in the later centuries consider themselves either Hanafi, Malikii, Shafi'i, or Hanbali.

For the beginning time of Asr, there are two distinct Fiqh positions and both are valid. Shafi'i, Maliki, and Hanbali fuqaha' agree that Asr time begins when shadow of any vertical object is equal to its length. Hanafi fuqahaa' say that Asr time begins when the shadow of any vertical object is twice its length. Both are based on authentic Hadith and practices of Sahaabah.

Our Facebook PageOur Twitter AccountOur YouTube Channel

  Enter your email address here to be kept informed about Islamic Society news and events.  

2014/15 ISoc Committee

Ebrahim Mahomed
Male Vice-President:
Rahul Jabed
Female Vice-President:
Jessica Mitchell
General Secretary:
Amalina Taib
Media Officer:
Amirul Ashraf
Danyaal Sabir
Events Officer:
Shabbir Hossain
Male Social Secretary:
Ali Qureshi
Female Social Secretary:
Aisha Bhailok & Maariyah Esat
Da’wah Secretary:
Sanaan Sheikh

ISoc Constitution

Browse Online
Download as PDF