LANCASTER UNIVERSITY

Academic management structure, 2018-19

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Dean: Professor Simon Guy (to 30/9/2019)

Deputy Dean: Professor Michael Hughes (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean

(Postgraduate Studies): Dr Charlotte Baker (to 31/8/2020)

Associate Dean

(Undergraduate Studies): Dr Willem Hollmann (to 31/7/2019)

Associate Dean

(Research): Professor Stephen Wilkinson (to 31/1/2021)

Director of Research Enhancement: Professor Suzanne Ost (to 7/1/2022)

Director of Engagement: Mr Frank Dawes (to 29/10/2020)

Director of Internationalisation: [vacancy]

Faculty Manager: Dr Jemma Evans

Resources Manager: Ms Gillian Harrison

Quality Assurance and

Enhancement Manager: Ms Suzanne Parkes

Head/ Educational Research: Professor Carolyn Jackson (to 31/7/2019)

Director: then Professor Paul Ashwin (from 1/8/2019 to 31/7/2022)

English Literature and Creative Writing: Professor Hilary Hinds (to 31/7/2020)

History: Professor Ian Gregory (to 31/7/2022)

Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts: Professor Judith Mottram (to 19/4/2021)

Languages and Cultures: Dr Olga Gomez-Cash (to 31/7/2019)

Law School: Professor Alisdair Gillespie (to 31/7/2019)

Linguistics and English Language: Professor Uta Papen (to 31/7/2021)
Politics, Philosophy and Religion: Professor Andrew Dawson (to 31/7/2022)

Sociology: Dr Chris Grover (to 31/7/2019)

Faculty of Health and Medicine

Interim Dean: Professor Peter Atkinson (to Autumn 2019)

Deputy Dean: Professor Carol Holland (to 30/9/2019)

Associate Dean

(External Engagement): [vacancy]

Associate Dean (Education)

(postgraduate): Dr Paul McKean (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean (Education)

(undergraduate): Dr Christine Shirras (to 31/7/2020)

Associate Dean

(Research): Professor Roger Pickup (to 31/7/2020)

Assistant Dean

(Communications and

Marketing): Dr Jane Simpson (to 30/9/2019)

Assistant Dean

(Staff Development): Professor Katherine Froggatt (to 30/9/2019)

Assistant Dean

(International): Dr Sabir Giga (to 31/8/2019)

Manager: Dr Amelia Hunt

Quality Assurance and

Enhancement Manager: Mr Geoff Clarke

Head/ Biomedical and Life Sciences: Professor Paul Bates (to 31/7/2020)

Director: Health Research: Professor Catherine Walshe (to 31/7/2022)

Lancaster Medical School: Dr Rachel Isba (to 31/1/2020)

Dr Gill Vince (Acting Director from August 2018 to August 2019)

Management School

Dean: Professor Angus Laing (to 30/9/2020)

Deputy Dean: Professor Maria Piacentini (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean

(Postgraduate Education): Professor Mark Shackleton (to 31/7/2020)

Associate Dean

(Undergraduate Education) Dr Casey Cross (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean

(Research): Professor Konstantinos Zografos (to 31/7/2019)

Associate Dean

(Engagement): Ms Jane O'Brien (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean

(Staffing): Professor Claire Leitch (to 31/7/2021)

Associate Dean

(International): Professor Mark Stevenson (to 31/7/2021)

Administrator: Ms Sue Atherton

Quality Assurance and

Enhancement Officer: Ms Patricia White

Head/ Accounting and Finance: Professor Grzegorz Pawlina (to 31/7/2021)

Director: Economics: Professor Maurizio Zanardi (to 31/7/2020)

Entrepreneurship and Strategy: Professor Duncan Angwin (to 31/7/2020)

Management Science: Professor John Boylan (to 31/7/2020)

Marketing: Professor Nick Alexander (to 31/7/2021)

Organisation, Work and Technology: Professor James Faulconbridge (to 31/7/2020)

Science and Technology Faculty

Dean: Professor Peter Atkinson

Deputy Dean: Professor Rich Haley (to 31/12/2022)

Associate Dean (Teaching)

(postgraduate): Dr Chris Edwards (to 31/7/2019)

Associate Dean (Teaching)

(undergraduate): Professor Jim Wild (to 31/12/2022)

Associate Dean

(Research): Professor Malcolm Joyce (to 31/3/2023)

Assistant Dean

(International): Professor Kirk Semple (to 30/4/2023)

Assistant Dean

(Research Enhancement): Professor Corina Sas

Director of International

Teaching Partnerships: Dr Phil Benachour (to 30/4/2022)

Faculty Manager: Dr Sarah Sweeney

Quality Assurance and

Enhancement Manager: Mr Geoff Clarke

Head/ Chemistry: Professor Peter Fielden (to 31/7/2020)

Director: Computing and Communications: Professor Adrian Friday (to 31/7/2021)

Engineering: Professor Claudio Paoloni (to 31/7/2022)

InfoLab21: Professor David Hutchison

Lancaster Environment Centre: Professor Phil Barker (to 31/7/2020)

Mathematics and Statistics: Dr Alex Belton (to 31/7/2021)

Natural Sciences: Dr Keith Davidson

Physics: Professor Roger Jones (to 31/7/2022)
Psychology: Professor Charlie Lewis (to 31/8/2019)

then Professor Kate Cain (from 1/9/2019 to 31/7/2023)