Creative writing publications

Creative Writing at Lancaster is taught by a distinguished group of prize-winning writers who publish in a wide range of genres.

Go to our staff profile page for further information on individual members of staff, their current research interests and a fuller list of projects and publications. Our staff are also involved in several Critical-Creative research projects.

The War Tour front cover

The short story

Zoe Lambert's short story collection, The War Tour was published by Comma Press in 2012 and shortlisted for the Edge Hill Prize.

Brian McCabe's Selected Stories was published by Argyll in 2004. He won the Canongate Prize in 2000.

Graham Mort was winner of the Bridport International Short Story Prize in 2007 and brought out a collection of short stories: Touch, with Seren in 2010. Touch won the Edge Hill Prize for short fiction in 2011. In 2015 his latest collection of short fiction, Terroir was published by Seren.

Hound front cover

The novel

Jenn Ashworth's first novel, A Kind of Intimacy was published in 2009 and won a Betty Trask Award. Her second, Cold Light was published in 2011 and she was listed among the BBC Culture Show's 12 Best New Writers. In 2012 her third novel, The Friday Gospels was published with Sceptre.

George Green's first novel: Hound was published by Transworld in 2003, and the follow-up, Hawk, in 2005.



Sarah Corbett's The Red Wardrobe won an Eric Gregory Award and was shortlisted for the T.S Eliot and Forward prizes.

Jane Draycott's collection The Night Tree was published by Carcanet in 2004. She has been nominated 3 times for the Forward Prize.  Over, Jane Draycott's third volume, was published by Oxford Poets in 2009.

Paul Farley's collection, The Dark Film, was published in 2012 and shortlisted for the T.S Eliot Prize.

Tom Pow's last single collection - Dear Alice - Narratives of Madness (Salt, 2008) - won the Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Scottish Book of the Year Award. In the Becoming, New and Selected Poems (Polygon) was published in 2009.

Edgelands front cover

Creative non fiction

Paul Farley's, Edgelands, (co-authored with Michael Symmons Roberts) was published by Jonathan Cape in 2011; it received the Royal Society of Literature's Jerwood Award, the Foyles Best Book of Ideas 2012 and was serialised as a BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week.

Sara Maitland published The Book of Silence with Granta in 2008.

Connor O'Callaghan's Red Mist, a comic memoir was published by Bloomsbury in 2004. A film adaptation, part documentary and part animation, was screened on Setanta TV.

The author is not dead front cover

Creative writing pedagogy

George Green's book Writing a Novel and Getting Published came out in 2007.

Sara Maitland published Mentoring for Creative Writing: A national report on good practice and recommendations for future development, with Martin Goodman in 2007 and The Writer’s Way, a creative writing course book in 2005.

Michelene Wandor published The Author is not Dead, Merely Somewhere Else: Creative Writing Reconceived in 2008.

Bus station

Digital media and interactive fiction

Jenn Ashworth and Brian Baker developed The Barrow Rapture, a collaborative, cross-artform creative project that explores the process of mapping a journey across a real and imagined version of Barrow-in-Furness. 

Jenn Ashworth published Bus Station: Unbound, a browser based, site specific fiction (co-written with Richard Hirst). It was reviewed by Leigh Alexander (Boing Boing).


Stage and screen

Tajinder Hayer's film Islands was selected for the inaugural film Raro challenge, the Hawaii International Film Festival 2013, Okseo Film Festival 2014, Isle of Man Film Festival 2014, Festival Icaro 2014, Zanzibar International Film Festival 2015, Filmfest Weiterstadt 2015 and PBS Online Film Festival 2014.

In 2016 his radio play Ask Mina was broadcast on the BBC Asian Network. In 2016 his post-apocalyptic play North County will be produced by Freedom Studios.