Writing Poetry

The Department brings together several eminent and prize-winning poets.

Paul Muldoon, former Oxford Professor of Poetry, has published over thirty collections, won both a Pulitzer Prize for Poetry and the T. S. Eliot Prize, and is President of the Poetry Society.

Paul Farley is host of BBC R4’s poetry programme The Echo Chamber and had his 2012 volume The Dark Film shortlisted for the T.S Eliot Prize.

Eoghan Walls won an Eric Gregory award in 2006, an Irish Arts Council Bursary in 2008, and has been shortlisted for a number of other prizes, such as the Crashaw Prize, the Bridport Prize and the Strong Award for Best First Collection.

Graham Mort won an Eric Gregory award for his first collection, A Country on Fire.

Sarah Corbett's The Red Wardrobe (1997) also won an Eric Gregory Award and was shortlisted for the T.S Eliot and Forward prizes.

Jane Draycott, author of The Night Tree (2004) and Over (2009), has been nominated three times for the Forward Prize.

And Tom Pow’s Dear Alice - Narratives of Madness (2008) won the Scottish Mortgage Investment Trust Scottish Book of the Year Award.