Italy (Italia), in the south of Europe, borders France to the north west, the Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Seas to the west, the Ionian Sea to the south, the Adriatic Sea to the east, Yugoslavia to the north east and Switzerland and Austria in the north. It includes the Mediterranean Islands of Sicily and Sardinia along with a number of smaller islands. It incorporates the independent enclaves of the Vatican City and San Marino. Three quarters of the country is comprised of mountains or hills including the Alps and Dolomites in the north and the Apennines which traverse the entire length of the country including Sicily from north to south. Low-lying areas exist along the Adriatic and parts of the Tyrrhenian coast. The northern part of the country, south of the Alps, consists largely of a vast plain drained by the River Po. The country's rivers are short and include the Arno, which runs through Florence and Pisa, and the Tiber upon which Rome is situated. Italy has a rich history commencing with the Etruscans who established themselves in central Italy before 800 BC. They were followed by the Latins of Latium and the Sabines, together the ancestors of the Romans, who dominated the country from the fifth century BC to the fifth century AD. Rome was capital of the Roman Empire and after the acceptance of Christianity home to the Papacy. It fell to invaders from the north in 476. In 800 Charlemagne was crowned Emperor of the West in Rome. Italy was home to the Renaissance, commencing in Florence about 1420, its influence then being felt throughout the country, notably in Rome and Venice. The country came under Napoleonic influence in the early nineteenth century, followed by Austrian influence from 1815. Venice was occupied by the Austrians when Ruskin visited in 1849. The country was unified by 1870. See also Ruskin and Italy.