Biology at Lancaster University


The Health Innovation Materials group is inherently interdisciplinary and highly collaborative. Each person brings their own unique knowledge and experience in this area. We collaborate with a pool of experts in the Faculty of Health and Medicine, particularly in the Department of Biomedical and Life Sciences and the Lancaster Medical School.


Fabrice Andrieux

Dr Fabrice Andrieux

Senior Lecturer

Centre for Global Eco-innovation , Chemical Engineering, Doctorate Centre in Nuclear Engineering, Energy Lancaster, Nuclear

+44 (0)1524 592274 D09, D - Floor, Engineering Building
Jamshed Anwar

Chemical Theory and Computation

+44 (0)7508 037486 A009, A - Floor, Faraday Building
Lorna Ashton

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 593552 A026, A - Floor, Faraday Building
David Cheneler

Lancaster Intelligent, Robotic and Autonomous Systems Centre, Nuclear

+44 (0)1524 594578 B12, B - Floor, Engineering Building
Michael Coogan

Dr Michael Coogan

Senior Lecturer

Chemical Synthesis

+44 (0)1524 592342
Timothy Douglas

Dr Timothy Douglas

Lecturer in Bio-Chemical Engineering

+44 (0)1524 594450
Nicholas Evans

Chemical Synthesis

+44 (0)1524 594538 B022, B - Floor, Faraday Building
Peter Fielden

Professor Peter Fielden

Professor, Head of Department

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 594748
Nick Fletcher

Dr Nick Fletcher

Senior Lecturer

Chemical Synthesis

+44 (0)1524 594324 C017, C - Floor, Faraday Building
Sarah Green

Centre for Global Eco-innovation , Structures, Materials and Manufacturing

+44 (0)1524 593086 D07, D - Floor, Engineering Building
John Griffin

Dr John Griffin

Lecturer in Materials Chemistry

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595087
Richard Haley

Professor Richard Haley

Professor of Low Temperature Physics

Low Temperature Physics, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 593211 A061, A - Floor, Physics Building
John Hardy

Dr John Hardy

Senior Lecturer in Materials Chemistry

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595080
Samuel Jarvis

Dr Samuel Jarvis

Lectureship in Nanoscale Materials Characterisation

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 594663 A046, A - Floor, Physics Building
Andrew Kennedy

Professor Andrew Kennedy

Chair in Advanced Manufacturing

Lancaster Intelligent, Robotic and Autonomous Systems Centre

+44 (0)1524 594258 D08, D - Floor, Engineering Building
Oleg Kolosov

Professor Oleg Kolosov

Professor of Nanoscience

Centre for Biophotonics, Energy Lancaster, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 593619 A029, A - Floor, Physics Building
Colin Lambert

Professor Colin Lambert

Research Professor

Energy Lancaster, North West Nanoscience Doctoral Training Centre , Quantum Technology Centre, Theory of Molecular-Scale Transport

+44 (0)1524 593059 C016, C - Floor, Physics Building
Peter McClintock

Professor Peter McClintock

Research Professor, Emeritus Professor

DSI - Health, Low Temperature Physics, Nonlinear and Biomedical Physics

+44 (0)1524 593073 C506, C - Floor, Physics Building
David Middleton

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 594328
Samuel Murphy

Dr Samuel Murphy

Lecturer in Nuclear Materials and Engineering

MSF Supervisors 2019/20

+44 (0)1524 592671
Rachel Platel

Chemical Synthesis , MSF Supervisors 2019/20

+44 (0)1524 592557 C015, C - Floor, Faraday Building
Jonathan Prance

Low Temperature Physics, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 594972 A023, A - Floor, Physics Building
Ihtesham Rehman

Professor Ihtesham Rehman

Chair in Bioengineering

+44 (0)1524 594038
Allan Rennie

Dr Allan Rennie

Senior Lecturer,

Centre for Global Eco-innovation , Lancaster Intelligent, Robotic and Autonomous Systems Centre, Lancaster Product Development Unit, Structures, Materials and Manufacturing, Work and Health Forum

+44 (0)1524 594384 D28, D - Floor, Engineering Building
Andrew Richardson

Engineering of Microwaves, Terahertz and Light (E-MIT)

+44 (0)1524 593018 B08, B - Floor, Engineering Building
Benjamin Robinson

Dr Benjamin Robinson FHEA

Lecturer in Physics and Functional Materials

MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 593218 A043, A - Floor, Physics Building
Mohamed Saafi

Structures, Materials and Manufacturing

+44 (0)1524 594070 B13, B - Floor, Engineering Building
Valerie Seymour

Dr Valerie Seymour

Research Associate

C020, C - Floor, Faraday Building
Rob Short

Professor Rob Short FTSE

Professor and Director of the Material Science Institute

MSF Leads

+44 (0)1524 592495
Mark Smith

Professor Mark Smith

Visiting Professor

+44 (0)1524 594545
Aneta Stefanovska

DSI - Health, Nonlinear and Biomedical Physics

+44 (0)1524 592784 C507, C - Floor, Physics Building
Joe Sweeney

Professor Joe Sweeney

Chair in Synthetic Chemistry, Principal of Bowland College

Chemical Synthesis

+44 (0)1524 592733
Abbie Trewin

Dr Abbie Trewin

Senior Lecturer

Chemical Theory and Computation

+44 (0)1524 592652
Jianqiao Ye

Structures, Materials and Manufacturing

+44 (0)1524 592377 B09, B - Floor, Engineering Building
Robert Young

Cyber Security Research Centre (Physics), Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre, Security Lancaster, Security Lancaster (Academic Centre of Excellence), Security Lancaster (Cyber Security)

+44 (0)1524 592222 C055, C - Floor, Physics Building
Sarah Allinson

Dr Sarah Allinson

Senior Lecturer,

+44 (0)1524 593922
Alexandre Benedetto

+44 (0)1524 594999
Nikki Copeland

Dr Nikki Copeland

Lecturer in Biomedicine

+44 (0)1524 592313
Christopher Gaffney

Dr Christopher Gaffney

Lecturer in Sports Science

+44 (0)1524 593602
Jemma Kerns

Dr Jemma Kerns FHEA

Senior Lecturer and Director of Assessment

Lancaster Intelligent, Robotic and Autonomous Systems Centre

+44 (0)1524 592285
Richard Mort

+44 (0)1524 592803
Paul O'Shea

Professor Paul O'Shea

Chair in Biomedicine

+44 (0)1524 510313
Roger Pickup

+44 (0)1524 593746
Karen Wright

Dr Karen Wright

Lecturer, Principal of Grizedale College

+44 (0)1524 593548
Adam Taylor

Professor Adam Taylor SFHEA

Director of the Clinical Anatomy Learning Centre & Professor in Anatomy

+44 (0)1524 593131
Emmanuel Tsekleves

Dr Emmanuel Tsekleves

Senior Lecturer

DSI - Health, ImaginationLancaster, Work and Health Forum

+44 (0)1524 510794