Undergraduate Degree Structure

At Lancaster University the first year is called Part I and the second and third years make up Part II.

Part I students take three courses in different subjects. A single honours philosophy student, as well as doing Part I Philosophy chooses two further courses either from within the department (i.e., Religious Studies; Politics; Ethics, Philosophy and Religion) or from a wide range of courses offered by other departments in the University.

Joint honours students (e.g., Philosophy and Politics) will be pre-enrolled onto two Part I courses (Philosophy, Politics) and choose one other. Triple honours students are pre-enrolled onto the three courses that make up their degree scheme.

Part I - First Year

All Philosophy students take the foundation course PHIL100: Introduction to Philosophy. Many also take EPR100 Ethics Philosophy and Religion.

Part II - Second Year

In the second and third year you create your own degree programme by choosing which modules to study from a menu of options. All students must take 240 credits over the two years of Part II, and there are some (but not too many) restrictions on which modules you can take for each degree programme.

Modules are typically worth 15 or 30 credits, and usually last one term (15 credit) or two terms (30 credit).

Single honours Philosophy students must take at least 180 credits in Philosophy, with their other 60 credits coming from modules in one of the other subjects they studied in Part I (normally, you must pass Part I in a subject to be allowed to take modules in it at Part II).

Joint honours students must take 120 credits in Philosophy and 120 credits in their other subject.

Triple honours students must take at least 60 (and therefore no more than 120) credits in each of their three subjects.