W.G. Collingwood, Via Filungo, Lucca


Find out more about the Ruskin Team, our Research Fellows, Visiting Professors and Advisory Board members.

Portrait photograph of Professor Sandra Kemp smiling.

Meet our Director

Professor Sandra Kemp has been Director of The Ruskin - Library, Museum and Research Centre - since October 2017. She is an academic and curator who has worked at prestigious institutions on both sides of the Atlantic. Her previous roles have taken her to the V&A, the Royal College of Art, the National Portrait Gallery, the Smithsonian Institution in Washington DC, and the Universities of Oxford, Southampton and Glasgow. She is currently Visiting Professor in the Department of Materials at Imperial College.

Working across the arts and sciences, Professor Kemp has an international track record of successful delivery of interdisciplinary, collaborative and industry-related research and curation in areas including art and design, material science and computer science.  Her wealth of expertise in museum curation and her understanding of how museums can shape and imagine the future, will be key to the transformation of The Ruskin, and its stunning collections, locally, regionally, nationally and globally.

Key Contacts

Tab Content: Ruskin Team

Tab Content: Visiting Professors

Tab Content: Research Fellows

British Academy


  • Yasue Akiyama
  • Alan Davis
  • Shoji Sato


  • Professor Stephen Wildman

Tab Content: Postdocs and Research Students


Tab Content: Advisory Board

  • Chair: Professor Dinah Birch CBE, Professor of English Literature and Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research and Impact, University of Liverpool 
  • Secretary: Simon Jennings, Director of Strategic Planning and Governance, Lancaster University

  • Susan Ashworth, Museums Collection Manager, Lancashire County Council
  • Professor Dame Sue Black, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Engagement, Lancaster University
  • Professor Amanda Chetwynd, Provost for Student Experience, Colleges and the Library, Lancaster University
  • Anna Cockman, Development Manager, Lancaster University 
  • Jocelyn Cunningham, Director of Lancaster Arts, Lancaster University
  • Professor Simon Guy, Dean of Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Lancaster University
  • Chris Harris, Director of the Guild of St George
  • Howard Hull, Director Ruskin Foundation, Director of Brantwood
  • Professor Sandra Kemp, Director of The Ruskin
  • Pete Maggs, Director of Library Services and Learning Development, Lancaster University
  • Professor Judith Mottram, Director of Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts, Lancaster University
  • Professor Robert Short, Director of the Material Science Institute, Lancaster University
  • Colin Simon, Secretary of Education Trust Limited
  • Jacqueline Whiteside, Chair Ruskin Foundation, Emeritus Head Librarian, Lancaster University
  • Joan Winterkorn, Archive and Manuscript Consultant
  • Professor Michael Worton CBE, Emeritus Vice-Provost and Fielden Professor of French, University College London