Mobilities Journal: John Urry article prize 2020


Published by Harriet Phipps

Tuesday, June 22nd, 2021

John Urry Article Prize 2020 Winners

Mobilities Editors are pleased to announce two worthy winners of the John Urry Article Prize 2020, hey are:

Turbulences of speeding up data circulation. Frontex and its crooked temporalities of ‘real-time’ border control 

by Silvan Pollozek
The Editors think this is an excellent article in drawing on STS methodologies to analyze data flows, temporalities and infrastructuring. Like the other article below, this one also is a critique of Frontex, and makes an important policy intervention. It contributes interesting views on how “intersecting orderings of mobility cause struggles between different parties, their agendas, and practices and produce clashes of temporalities on the ground”, which echoes John Urry’s important contributions to thinking about temporalities, as well as his interest in informational mobilities.   Pollozek extends the mobilities framework in an innovative way into an analysis of the mobility of data in the context of the structures of Frontex and pressing contemporary issues. Thus it builds an important bridge between critical mobility studies and “the geographies of data circulation” and is another excellent example of the kind of work we support.

The migration map trap. On the invasion arrows in the cartography of migration

by Henk van Houtum and Rodrigo Bueno  Lacy

Editors say that this excellent article has clear, compelling writing and images; smart, original analysis of the problems of migration cartography, wonderful analysis of a variety of maps, and very nice counter-mapping and mobile mapping examples. It is also an important intervention in policy debates around migration through unpacking the power of visual representations. They think it exemplifies the kinds of migration and border studies that are of interest to the Mobilities journal, building on John Urry’s interests in mapping, visual representation, and historical analysis along with critical mobility studies relevant to current political issues.

Many congratulations
Peter Adey, Kevin Hannam, Mimi Sheller and David Tyfield

You may also like…