21 July 2015 09:18

Five distinguished people have been awarded honorary degrees at the July graduation ceremonies. 

Dr Gillian Tett – Honorary Doctor of Letters

Dr Gillian Tett is the US Managing Editor of the Financial Times and has established an enviable reputation as a commentator on financial markets and economics more generally. In 2014, she was named Columnist of the Year in the British Press Awards.  She is author of the books Saving the Sun (2003) and Fool’s Gold (2009). Gillian was also awarded the President’s Medal by the British Academy in 2011.

Professor Dieter Bimberg – Honorary Doctor of Science

Professor Bimberg, of the Technical University of Berlin, is a leading European figure in the field of semiconductor physics and nanoscience, and his work has exciting applications in the future of electronic visual displays. In 2012 he received the UNESCO Medal and Award for the Development of Nanosciences and Nanotechnologies. He is also a member of the German Academy of Sciences and a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. 

Professor Georgina Mace CBE FRS – Honorary Doctor of Science

Georgina Mace, a population biologist, is Professor of Biodiversity and Ecosystems at University College London. Building upon her early work on population viability in zoos, her world-leading research informs international conservation strategy. Her research has been credited with directly and indirectly reducing species extinctions on a global scale. Professor Mace was awarded an OBE in 1998, elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2002, and in 2007 won the International Cosmos Prize and was awarded a CBE for services to environmental science. 

Dr Hugh Montgomery – Honorary Doctor of Science

Dr Montgomery is a renowned experimental particle physicist and the Director of the Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility in Virginia. He has made numerous important contributions to our understanding of the elementary constituents of matter and has been an inspirational leader of several major international research collaborations.

Professor Scott Zeger Honorary Doctor of Science

Professor Zeger is one of the world's leading biostatisticians, whose research combines the development of novel statistical methodology and its application to a wide range of substantive problems in biomedical and health science.  Under his leadership, the Department of Biostatistics at Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore) is now one of the most highly regarded in its field worldwide – his skills in management led to his promotion to Deputy Provost for Research and acting Provost for the University.