Energy Storage

Energy Storage

Theme Leader

Harry Hoster

Professor Harry Hoster FRSC

Professor & Director of Energy Lancaster

Energy Lancaster, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)7842 831633

Research Areas

This theme involves rechargeable batteries, fuel cells, electrolysers, and power-to-gas technologies. Our research activities spread from fundamentals (atomistic modelling of electrodes) all the way to real-life (battery degradation) and larger-scale applications (Lancaster Hydrogen Hub).



In the LiNaMAN project, Lancaster University is working alongside LiNa Energy and the Centre for Process Innovation (National Formulation Centre) to take the LiNa cell concept and apply modern materials and process engineering to demonstrate successful operation. LiNa Energy Ltd is a Lancaster based micro SME that is founded upon a novel sodium cell which unlocks the high power/energy density potential of established battery chemistry whilst giving many additional product advantages such as vastly improved safety, rapid starting and reduced product complexity.


Multi-Scale Modelling of Lithium-Ion Batteries

In this consortium led by Imperial College, we work on three main tasks:

  • Visualisation and data management (VISDAM) (Denes Csala)
  • Atomistic modelling of phase transitions and how they appear in voltage/entropy profiles (Michael Mercer)
  • Lithium-Ion Battery Ageing: Observation, Explanation, Forecasting (Harry Hoster)


UK Niche Vehicle Battery Cell Supply Chain (Harry Hoster and Nuria Tapia Ruiz) 

This project (led by AGM Batteries) will bring battery cell manufacture back to the UK. For that, we rely on one of the UK's strong existing manufacturing sectors: niche vehicles, also known as specialized vehicles. These are produced in smaller numbers as compared to passenger cars. UK companies producing these vehicles are thus having more difficulties sourcing cells on the global markets at affordable prices, given the general shortage of cell supplies. For a newly established UK cell manufacturing sector, this provides business opportunities with less price pressure and no tax barriers. Here, we bring together companies all the way from battery materials to vehicle manufacturers. 

The Lancaster team oversees the problem of battery lifetime prediction and warranty assurance provision (see also project pozibot).


Theme Members

Nuno Bimbo

Dr Nuno Bimbo

Lecturer in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering, Energy Lancaster

+44 (0)1524 595063 B008a, B - Floor, Science and Technology
Richard Dawson

Dr Richard Dawson

Senior Lecturer

Centre for Global Eco-innovation , Chemical Engineering, Energy Lancaster

+44 (0)1524 593685 D11, D - Floor, Engineering Building
John Griffin

Dr John Griffin

Lecturer in Materials Chemistry

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595087
Samuel Jarvis

Dr Samuel Jarvis

Lectureship in Nanoscale Materials Characterisation

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 594663 A046, A - Floor, Physics Building
Andrew Kennedy

Professor Andrew Kennedy

Chair in Advanced Manufacturing

Lancaster Intelligent, Robotic and Autonomous Systems Centre

+44 (0)1524 594258 D08, D - Floor, Engineering Building
Oleg Kolosov

Professor Oleg Kolosov

Professor of Nanoscience

Centre for Biophotonics, Energy Lancaster, Quantum Nanotechnology, Quantum Technology Centre

+44 (0)1524 593619 A029, A - Floor, Physics Building
Colin Lambert

Professor Colin Lambert

Research Professor

Energy Lancaster, North West Nanoscience Doctoral Training Centre , Quantum Technology Centre, Theory of Molecular-Scale Transport

+44 (0)1524 593059 C016, C - Floor, Physics Building
Alastair Martin

Chemical Engineering

+44 (0)1524 592335 B11, B - Floor, Engineering Building
Stijn Mertens

Dr Stijn Mertens

Senior Lectureship in Electrochemical Surface Science

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 594189
Nuria Tapia Ruiz

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 593126
Kathryn Toghill

Energy Lancaster, MSF Supervisors 2019/20, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595003 A040, A - Floor, Faraday Building
Abbie Trewin

Dr Abbie Trewin

Senior Lecturer

Chemical Theory and Computation

+44 (0)1524 592652