The English Literature and Creative Writing building with the sign on the wall.

English Literature and Creative Writing

Start your story with Lancaster University

Scroll to content

Students gathering at the Priory

Welcome to the Department of English Literature and Creative Writing

Professor Mark Knight- Head of Department.

Welcome Message

Study with us


96% of our published work has been rated world-leading or internationally excellent (REF2021: English Language and Literature). Our research is uniquely shaped by the juxtaposition of the critical and the creative, the historic city of Lancaster, with its stunning Medieval Castle and Priory, and the nearby Lake District, home of Romanticism. We have a formal link with the Wordsworth Museum in Grasmere, and also collaborate with both The Ruskin Museum on campus and Lancaster Literature Festival.

Our Research
Tutors at a book reading
Okey Nzelu, Dr Eoghan Walls and Dr Elen Caldecott


Our Creative Writing programme has a long and distinguished history which dates back to 1970, meaning that, in the UK, we were there at the very beginning of the discipline. And we remain at the fore with celebrated authors as tutors and students who go on to publish their work both while with us and after.

Creative Writing at Lancaster

Get Involved

Literary Lancaster

The Department is not only home to many eminent authors and critics but also hosts a whole series of free literary events featuring world-leading guest writers and scholars. Some are held on campus, but many are held in Lancaster’s historic city centre – our favourite venues are the Castle, the Priory, and the Storey. For a calendar of our upcoming events, just scroll down.

Literary Lancaster


Athena Swan Action Plan 2019.

Download Athena Swan Action Plan

Lancaster Writing Awards 2022 Winners

The winners of the Lancaster Writing Awards 2022 are listed below. Congratulations!


First place : Maya Gould Second place : Holly Gordon-Clark Third place : Cara Cristine


First place : Aaron Firth Second place : Emily Robinson Third place : Holly Cumpsty Commended : Ben Thomas Commended : Gracie Quinn


Joint first place : Oshadha Perera Joint first place : Maria Hill Second place : Hamin Park

Script and Screen Writing

First place : Demi Armstrong First runner up : Aneja Sunehar Second runner up : Grace Thompson