Structure and modules

The programme lasts a minimum of four years, and is divided into two parts. Part One consists of four compulsory modules aimed at offering you guided study in important and topical areas of technology enhanced learning and e-research. There will be two four-day compulsory residential meetings in Part One. In Part Two you will carry out an original piece of research under the supervision of a member of staff.

Programme timetable

Part 1 ModulesTimetable
Module One (45 credits) January - June (Year 1)
Year One Residential March or April (Year 1)
Module Two (45 credits) July - December (Year 1)
Module Three (45 credits) January - June (Year 2)
Year Two Residential March or April (Year 2)
Module Four (45 credits) July- December (Year 2)

Specific dates to be confirmed.

There is a four/five week break in August of Years 1 & 2.

Part 2Timetable
PhD Thesis January of Year 3 Onwards

The University closes for Christmas/New Year & Easter.

Part One (Years 1 and 2)


Part Two (Year 3 Onwards)

Preparing for and writing the thesis.