Lancaster anatomist winner of 2019 national teaching excellence award

Adam Taylor
Professor Adam Taylor

Professor Adam Taylor of Lancaster Medical School has been awarded a National Teaching Fellowship.

He is one of fifty-four new National Teaching Fellows announced by Advance HE.

Professor Taylor, who is the Director of the Clinical Anatomy Learning Centre, said he was both delighted and humbled.

“Teaching anatomy is challenging because the subject content is so vast, but having access to digital resources that resonate so strongly with students makes a huge difference to their educational experience. It is also extremely rewarding to know that the knowledge you are instilling in students will go on to help them diagnose and treat people as part of their careers.

“I'm also grateful that I also get the opportunity to share my knowledge and expertise with the wider public as part of the educational outreach and engagement work I do. I utilise these interactions to help inform the teaching that I do on a daily basis.”

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) showcases the outstanding impact of individuals who teach or support learning in UK higher education, recognising their success and providing a platform to share the learning from their practice.

Professor Sharon Huttly, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Education and EDI at Lancaster University,  said: “We are delighted that Adam’s teaching and wider contributions to learning have been recognised through this NTFS award. Adam actively fosters an approach that is driven by his philosophy that “learning is for everyone”. This approach speaks to the importance that Lancaster University places not only on our students and their learning, but on outreach into the wider public sphere, influencing and shaping thinking in society. “

Alison Johns, Advance HE’s chief executive, congratulated the winners from across the UK. 

“Becoming a National Teaching Fellow is a huge achievement. It can be truly life-changing. Creating ambassadors for innovative and impactful teaching who are valued by institutions and colleagues, and who can set in motion change and enhancements to make a really positive impact on student experience and outcomes across their institution and beyond. 

“Advance HE looks forward to working with the winners to help to disseminate their work for the benefit of all.”  

Winners will receive their awards at a special ceremony in Manchester later this year.



Back to News