Woman working in the lab

Athena SWAN

Since 2014, the Faculty of Health and Medicine has held the Athena SWAN Silver Award, recognising our commitment to advancing the careers of women in higher education and research.

The Athena SWAN Charter works towards recognising advancement of gender equality: representation, progression and success for all. The charter covers the following:

  • Women, and men where appropriate
  • Academic roles in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM)
  • Academic roles in arts, humanities, social sciences, business and law (AHSSBL)
  • Professional and support staff
  • Trans staff and students

In relation to their:

  • representation
  • progression of students into academia
  • journey through career milestones
  • working environment for all staff

Action Plan (2018-2021)

Actions, success criteria and predicted outcomes pertaining to students, professional and support staff, academic staff and research staff. 

Find out more

Athena Swan in FHM (2012-2017)

The Faculty was awarded a Bronze Athena SWAN award in 2012, and then a Silver award in 2014. This was renewed in the April 2018 round.

Read the summary

Equality Enhancement Committee

Formed in 2015, the Equality Enhancement Committee (EEC) is a formally-constituted Faculty committee, embedded within FHM’s governance structure (see Terms of Reference). It has responsibility for our commitment to the Athena SWAN (AS) Charter and forms our AS self-assessment team.

The EEC is supported and advised through the Equality Enhancement Steering Group comprising the Dean, Assistant Dean for Staff Development (Professor Katherine Froggatt) and the two Co-Chairs (Drs Amelia Hunt and Jackie Parry).

EEC membership brings a broad range of expertise and experiences to the group, including Divisional EDI representatives ex officio. It includes both staff and students and the gender ratio (68% female) is representative of FHM’s staff/student population (65% female).

The EEC’s remit is to ensure the principles of equality are embedded within Faculty culture. It is accountable to the Policy and Resources Committee (PRC), FHM’s principal decision-making body, to deliver on the actions in the AS Action Plan and to the development and implementation of initiatives in supporting FHM’s strategic goal of providing a welcoming and inclusive environment.

The committee meets twice a term and any issues you would like to raise can be presented by your Divisional Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) officer: Dr Neil Dawson (BLS), Dr Mark Limmer (DHR), Dr Elaine Taylor (LMS).

EEC members

Professor Paul Bates
Head of Biomedical & Life Sciences

Janice Wu 
BLS Undergraduate Representative

Dr Sue Broughton
Lecturer/BLS UG Admissions Director

Dr Nikki Copeland
Lecturer in Biomedicine

Dr Neil Dawson
Lecturer/BLS EDI representative

Professor Katherine Froggatt
Assistant Dean for Staff Development

Dr Karen Grant
Senior Lecturer/LMS Deputy Director of Medical Studies

Dr Emma Halliday
Senior Research Fellow/Research Staff representative

Jack Higgins
Postgraduate Research Student representative

Dr Amelia Hunt
Faculty Manager/Co-Chair EEC

Viyas Sooriyakumaran 
LMS Undergraduate representative

Dr Mark Limmer
Lecturer/Director of Blended Learning PhD (Part II)/DHR EDI representative

Dr Elizabeth McDermott
Senior Lecturer/DHR HoD representative

Dr Gill Vince
Senior Lecturer/LMS Head of Department representative

Bethan McMullen
PA to the Dean of Faculty/ EEC Secretary

Dr Jackie Parry
Senior Lecturer/Co-Chair EEC

Professor Roger Pickup
Associate Dean for Research

Dr Elisabeth Shaw
Bioimaging Facilities Manager/Technical Staff representative

Dr Elaine Taylor
Lecturer in Medical Sciences/Director of Student Support/LMS EDI representative

Sophie Black
(in attendance) University EDI Advisor

Charlotte Delany
(in attendance) University EDI Manager

Michelle Smart 
UG Office Coordinator/Professional Services Staff representative