Two students walking across campus, with buildings behind and grass and trees in the foreground.

Departments in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

Our faculty is home to nine departments and a large number of specialist research centres.


Specialist Centres

  • Research Centres

    The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences holds true to the University’s original mission to be a pioneer in challenging established thinking and championing new ideas through high quality research.

  • The Ruskin Library, Museum and Research Centre

    Home to the leading collection of the works of John Ruskin (1819-1900), the epoch-defining writer, artist and social thinker.

  • Confucius Institute

    Supporting language learning and enterprise in the North West region and awarded Confucius Institute of the Year 2019.

  • Lancaster Arts

    Based at Lancaster University, Lancaster Arts has a long-established artistic reputation for the creation, development and presentation of cutting edge contemporary arts.