Congratulations to our graduates

9 December 2018 11:55
Graduating postgraduate students in black gowns, red and gold hoods and black hats

Congratulations to our masters students and PhD researchers who are graduating this week, becoming alumni of a top ten University!

One hundred and thirty students from the Lancaster Environment Centre are graduating on Wednesday, including the second cohort from the Graduate School for the Environment, which brings together three of the world’s foremost environmental research organisations.

As well as 78 taught masters students, there are 5 masters by research students, and 28 PhD researchers.

There are also nearly 20 students on professional training programmes, studying while developing their careers, who are receiving Postgraduate Certificates or Diplomas. These includethe first student to gain a PG Diploma on the Food Challenges for the 21st Century course, run in partnership with Waitrose supermarket.

Professor Philip Barker, director of the Lancaster Environment Centre at Lancaster University, said:

“Congratulations to all our postgraduate students: it is fantastic to see such a large cohort graduating. For most students these degrees mark the end of formal training and a move into employment where opportunities will be presented to work on the challenges affecting our planet, our economy and our society. Exciting times are ahead.”

Prizes are being awarded to the Lancaster Environment Centre’s top performing students:

  • Best Overall Performance (MSc): Damon Waterworth, MSc Energy & Environment
  • Best Overall Performance (PG Certificate): Karen Covey, PG Cert Food Challenges for the 21st Century
  • Best Overall Performance (PG Diploma): Zlatina Todorova, PG Dip Food Security
  • Best Dissertation: Marissa Lo, MSc Volcanology & Geological Hazards
  • Best Industry Based Project (EBP sponsored): Jennifer Davies, MSc Environmental Management
  • Keith Beven Hydrology Prize: Evan Bett, MSc Sustainable Water Management
  • Best Overall Marks (MSc International Innovation): Tanya McCorkle (Design pathway)
  • Best Dissertation (MSc International Innovation): Thomas MacFarlane (Design pathway)
Back to News