Research in the IsoLab at Lancaster University

Undergraduate Degrees

Book an Open Day


We offer a range of flexible degree courses that are undertaken over four (MPhys and MSci) or three (BSc) years. You can graduate with one of three different degree qualifications - MPhys, MSci and BSc.


Physics with Particle Physics and Cosmology

Physics, Astrophysics and Cosmology

Theoretical Physics

Theoretical Physics with Mathematics


Lancaster University, in partnership with the Open University, offers a flexible route to a degree in physics for prospective students whose circumstances prevent them from obtaining traditional qualifications such as A levels. Find out more about the scheme.


of lectures in a typical week


of seminars


in a laboratory environment

Lancaster is ranked 1st in the UK for Feedback Satisfaction by The Guardian League Table 2020

Lancaster is ranked 2nd for Physics in the UK Guardian League Table 2020

Our research is ranked second in the UK for world-leading publications in the Research Excellence Framework 2014

Your course

Extensive high-quality contact time

With approximately 375 high-quality contact hours a year, you can always rely on our staff for guidance and assistance. In a typical week, you will have 12-15 hours of lectures, take part in 3-4 hours of seminars where the lecturer will explain solutions and help with any difficulties, and spend about 6 hours in the laboratory, working closely with other students and staff.

Practical experiments and lab work

You will participate in demonstrations of the physical phenomena described in lectures, learn to use scientific equipment and develop skills in taking measurements, drawing conclusions and writing reports. You will also carry out extensive research projects, first in groups and then under individual supervision, where you apply your knowledge and actively contribute to the development of the field.

Comprehensive academic support

You will be able to rely on extensive academic support with multiple possible contacts for any question – you can choose to contact your lecturer, your departmental academic advisor, your degree scheme manager, or the teaching support staff. We will also assign you a college tutor responsible for providing advice and assisting with any other questions you may encounter.

Continuous feedback

We continually provide academic feedback and keep you informed of your results. A considerable part of your lab, project and coursework counts towards your final degree mark. This allows us to make the assessment meaningful, in recognition of the fact that proper scientific work is deep and requires time. As a rough guide, 40-50% of your degree marks are based on this continuous assessment, with the remainder based on exams.

Physics Scholarships

We are rewarding excellence by providing Scholarships of £1,000 in your first year. This grant is for all students who choose a Lancaster University Physics course as their firm choice with UCAS and achieve exceptional A-level grades in A level mathematics and physics. Overseas Students may qualify for this award if they attain outstanding grades in their exams. Email us for more information.

Global Experiences

You will have the opportunity to spend your third year studying abroad at one of our prestigious partner universities. We participate in exchange programmes with universities in Australia, New Zealand, the USA, Canada and Europe.

Your Global Experience

Academic Support

We ensure that our students receive the support that they need to achieve their full potential. We are a friendly department and foster a supportive learning environment.

Academic Advisors

We assign each student their Advisor for the duration of their studies. Your Advisor is available for on-demand, one-to-one consultation, and for at least one meeting per term. These meetings can include feedback on coursework and discussion of academic issues or personal development. You may also discuss extra-curricular activities and any other questions you may be having.

Open Door Policy

Our friendly and approachable staff - both academic and support staff - offer an open door to any students wanting help with their learning. Staff in the Teaching Office are also always available to help.

Student Representatives

Elected student representatives collect feedback from our students. We hold regular meetings with these representatives and the academic staff. We must listen to students' opinions so that we can improve your experience.

Student Learning Advisor

The Faculty of Science and Technology provide support with Student Learning Advisors. They offer workshops and free consultations to help you improve your scientific writing. We want your coursework to achieve its full potential.