Lifetime achievement award for Lancaster University Management School professor

Professor Sue Cox OBE

Professor Sue Cox OBE, an expert in safety and risk management, has been awarded the prestigious Richard Whipp Lifetime Achievement Award at the British Academy of Management annual conference at Aston University today.

Sue is the Chair of Safety & Risk Management in Lancaster University Management School, and was the School’s Dean from 2001 to 2015. She received her OBE in 2011 for services to the social sciences and management. Her leadership within the sector has helped universities across the world develop stronger links with external communities and enterprises.

In research, she is a leading figure in the field of reliability, safety and risk management with a particular focus on organisational issues in major hazard environments. Her work has informed and help shape high-level organisations and practices in both government and the energy sectors.

From left: BAM Award winners Dr Marian Iszatt-White, Dr Robert Demir and Dr Sophie Alkhaled, from the Lancaster University Management School Department of Entrepreneurship and Strategy

Also receiving the award was Abby Ghobadian, Professor of Management at Henley Business School, who studies how organisational performance can be improved.

The awards are made annually in the memory of Professor Richard Whipp (1954-2005), to acknowledge his contribution in developing the Academy. The awards were given by his widow, Anne Whipp.

Current Lancaster University Management School Dean, Professor Angus Laing – the former Chair of the Chartered Association of Business Schools – became a Companion of the British Academy of Management at the conference, in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the field of management.

There were three winners from the LUMS Department of Entrepreneurship and Strategy.

Dr Sophie Alkhaled was awarded the Management Education Practice Early Career Teaching Practitioner Category Award 2019 for 'The Mainstreaming Gender and Diversity in LUMS’ programme portfolio; Dr Marian Iszatt-White, along with Dr Andrea Herepath, from the University of Bath, collected the Best Developmental Paper Award for their work "They have the power because they've got the knife": Examining leadership in and interprofessional healthcare arena; and Dr Robert Demir won the Best Full Paper Award with PhD student Steven Hutton and Dr Stephen Eldridge, from the Department of Management Science, for their work Open Innovation: Restoring the Capability Proximity.

From left: Dr Sophie Alkhaled, Professor Sue Cox OBE and Professor Angus Laing, with their awards at the British Academy of Management annual conference

Back to News