Magnetic Resonance

Magnetic Resonance

The Department has facilities dedicated for NMR in the solution and solid states, as well as instrumentation for EPR.

The solution state NMR facilities are run in open access by Dr Geoffrey Akien, and all users must receive training before being allowed access. The solid-state facilities are run differently, so either Dr Geoffrey Akien or Professor David Middleton are the first points of contact.

The booking timetables for each instrument can be viewed here. The Department possesses an EPR instrument, but this is currently unavailable until its installation in a dedicated space. As part of the N8, and ResoN8 in particular, the Department is committed to asset sharing, so external users are welcome to use the facilities - contact Dr Geoffrey Akien if you're unsure of your needs.


Dr Geoffrey Akien

Experimental Officer (NMR)

+44 (0)1524 593790 C009, C - Floor, Faraday Building

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 594328

Dr John Griffin

Lecturer in Materials Chemistry

Energy Lancaster, Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595087

Professor Stephen Wimperis

Professor of Chemistry

Physical and Analytical Chemistry

+44 (0)1524 595058 A041, A - Floor, Faraday Building

Dr Valerie Seymour

Research Associate

C020, C - Floor, Faraday Building