Management School celebrates achievements with Dean’s Awards

Professor Claire Leitch presents awards certificates to the winning students from Accounting and Finance

Staff and students from Lancaster University Management School joined together in celebration of achievements at the annual Dean’s Awards.

Eleven awards were made to teams and individuals in recognition of their achievements and contributions to the School over the last 12 months.

LUMS Executive Dean Professor Claire Leitch awarded the prizes at a ceremony in the LUMS Hub. In total 18 people – including eight students – took home prizes.

“It is always a pleasure to be able to recognise the efforts and accomplishments of our committed colleagues and students through the Dean’s Awards,” said Professor Leitch.

“Every year, we receive a great range and number of nominations, showing the talents we have and successes that take place across the School throughout the year. It was wonderful to see so many of our colleagues at the awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements. Congratulations to all the winners and those nominated.”

Professor Claire Leitch presents a Dean's Award cerificate to Dr Leighanne Higgins

Among the staff and student awards was a special prize awarded in memory of former LUMS colleague Professor Alistair Anderson. The award recognises community, mentorship, and entrepreneurial students, and this year was presented to Stephen King, from the Research Support Office for his work connecting businesses and academic researchers to positive effect.

The full list of winners is as follows:

The Professor Alistair Anderson Award: Stephen King (Research Support Office).

Academic Winners:

Dr Anna-Lena Sachs (Management Science); Dr Kwok Tong Soo (Economics); Dr Beatriz Rodriguez Garcia (Marketing); Mary Hargreaves (Marketing); Dr Leighanne Higgins (Marketing, pictured above).

Professional Services Winners:

Gemma Miller (Marketing, Recruitment and Alumni Team, pictured below); Sophia Wu (Careers Team).

Team Award:

PR and Engagement – Paul Turner and Lara Cowperthwaite.

Student Awards:

Nandini Shivakumar, Michael Oldfield, and Abi Bednall (Economics); Yi Lu, Jinghao Cui, Mu He, Shibo Zhao, and Koen Ka Wung Chung (Accounting and Finance, pictured at top of page).

The full picture gallery from the event is available online on Facebook.

Professor Claire Leitch presents a Dean's Award cerificate to Gemma Miller

Back to News