12 December 2017 14:59

A renowned leader in nuclear research and a pioneer in the field of palliative care have been awarded honorary degrees at Lancaster University’s graduation ceremonies this December.

Professor Richard Clegg FREng, Honorary Doctor of Science

A graduate of Lancaster University, Professor Richard Clegg has played a leading role in maintaining and revitalising UK nuclear research and education, without which the UK nuclear landscape would look significantly different.

He played a central role in establishing four university research alliances in core nuclear fields and was the Founding Director of the world-leading Dalton Nuclear Institute at the University of Manchester.

Richard has worked and influenced across the nuclear sector in academia, government and industry, in both the civil and defence sectors.

He is now Managing Director of Lloyd’s Register Foundation, a leading global charity dedicated to engineering-related research and education, and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Engineering in 2016.

Professor Clegg’s links with Lancaster University continue as the Lloyd’s Register Foundation International Joint Research Centre for the Safety of Nuclear Energy is led by Lancaster, in collaboration with the Universities of Harbin (China), Tennessee and Coventry.


Dame Barbara Monroe DBE FRSA, Honorary Doctor of Science

Dame Barbara Monroe is internationally known as an inspirational leader, educator and facilitator of research in the field of palliative and end of life care, with a focus on the hospice movement.

She is immediate past Chief Executive of the world renowned St Christopher’s Hospice in London.

She pioneered approaches to working with bereaved children, and contributed widely to developing hospice care, particularly recently through the Hospice UK Commission on the Future of Hospice Care.

In 2010, she was appointed a Dame Commander of the British Empire for services to Palliative Care and is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.