‘Eminent social scientist’ honoured for research excellence

Professor Imogen Tyler
Professor Imogen Tyler

A Lancaster University Professor has been recognised for the excellence and impact of her work by the Academy of Social Sciences.

Professor Imogen Tyler, who will become Head of the Department of Sociology later this year, is one of 73 leading social scientists conferred as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences. The new Fellows are drawn from academics, practitioners and policymakers across the social sciences.

They have been recognised after an extensive peer review process for the excellence and impact of their work through the use of social science for public benefit. This includes substantial contributions and leadership in various fields, including higher education, social, economic and environmental policy, government, law, charitable foundations and think tanks.

The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, learned societies and practitioners in the social sciences. Its mission is to promote social science in the UK for the public benefit. The Academy is composed of 1313 individual Fellows, 44 Learned Societies, and a number of affiliates, together representing nearly 90,000 social scientists.

Sociologist Professor Tyler was recognised by the Academy as ‘an eminent social scientist, renowned for her research on class, racism and gender and their intersections’.

Professor Tyler is well-known for her award nominated and highly influential book Revolting Subjects: Social Abjection and Resistance in Neoliberal Britain. She is currently finishing a Leverhulme-funded research project on stigma and power; a monograph entitled The Sociology of Stigma, was published in 2018, and a new book Stigma Machines will be published next year.

Professor Tyler said: “I am honoured to have been made a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences. We need critical, public-facing and engaged social scientific research more than ever and this award reflects a long history of scholarship at Lancaster on social inequalities and injustice.” 

She will be formally welcomed to the Academy at a ceremony hosted by the President, Professor Sir Ivor Crewe FAcSS, on June 20th 2019.

Back to News